The Regional Occupation List (ROL)

The Regional Occupation List (ROL)

The Regional Occupation List (ROL)

As the job market becomes increasingly competitive, many skilled workers are looking to migrate to Australia in search of new opportunities. One of the ways to do this is by applying for a visa under the Regional Occupation List (ROL).

The Regional Occupation List (ROL) is an important tool used by the Department of Home Affairs in Australia to address the skills shortages in regional and low-population growth areas of the country. The ROL is a list of occupations that are in demand in specific regions of Australia and is used to determine which skilled workers are eligible for certain visa programs, such as the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) visa and the Skilled Employer-Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa (Subclass 494).

The main advantage of occupations which are on the ROL for those who are based in regional locations can have a pathway to permanent residency that they may otherwise have not had the opportunity on if based metropolitan. For example, a Cook, Marketing Specialist or Web Developer doesn’t have access to PR if metropolitan, but they do if regional and meet the 494 Visa requirements.

The ROL plays a crucial role in ensuring that the Australian economy remains strong and competitive by addressing the shortage of skilled workers in specific regions. This is particularly important for regional and low-population growth areas, where it can be difficult to find local workers with the skills needed to fill certain jobs. The ROL helps to fill these skills gaps by making it easier for skilled workers from overseas to migrate to these areas and take up the necessary roles.

Regional locations in Australia for migration refer to specific areas outside of metropolitan cities such as Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane, that are designated by the Department of Home Affairs as areas of high demand for skilled workers. These areas are often in need of workers with specific skillsets to support economic growth and development.


What are the regional areas in Australia?

The exact locations that are considered to be regional for migration purposes can vary depending on the current demand for certain occupations and the availability of local workers with the necessary skills. However, some examples of regional locations in Australia for migration include:

  • Regional Victoria: including areas such as Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo, and the Latrobe Valley
  • Regional Queensland: including areas such as Cairns, Townsville, Mackay, and the Sunshine Coast
  • Regional South Australia: including areas such as the Barossa Valley, the Riverland, and Mount Gambier
  • Regional Western Australia: including areas such as Perth, the Pilbara, and the Kimberley
  • Regional Tasmania: including areas such as Launceston, Hobart, and Devonport
  • Regional Northern Territory: including areas such as Darwin and Alice Springs
  • Regional ACT: including areas such as the ACT
  • Some parts of New South Wales and regional areas of the Gold Coast and Newcastle.


The ROL is different from the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) and the Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL) which are used for other skilled visa programs such as the Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189) and the Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190) respectively. The ROL focuses specifically on regional and low-population growth areas, whereas the MLTSSL and STSOL cover a broader range of occupations and regions.

No Comments

Post A Comment

Ask A Question
close slider